Distractions

Distractions are, quite literally, everywhere.  In our dorm rooms, at home, in the library, in the lounges…you name a place and I can certainly find something there to distract myself from school work.  The trick becomes finding ways to avoid lengthy, time-consuming distractions; the kind that keep us from getting done what needs to be done.

I’ll be the first to admit that I keep my Facebook window open (yet minimized) while I do my homework, but it has taken me a long time to build up the will-power necessary for me to only check it every half-hour or so.  If I were to continuously check my news feed, I would never get my homework done.  Facebook is too much of a distraction for me.  I’ve learned ways to deal with it though.  For example, I like to come up with checkpoints in an assignment before I begin.  When I reach each checkpoint, I’m allowed 5 minutes to browse Facebook.  This way I don’t get overwhelmed with homework and I still enjoy my fill of social media.

Distractions are different for everyone.  Maybe Facebook isn’t your thing, but the checkpoint solution works for all types of distractions.  It’s almost like a reward for finishing a chapter of your book, or a paragraph of your essay.  Find a way to limit your favorite distractions that works for you and I promise, the next few years will be much smoother!  The distractions will never stop, but the ways in which you choose to handle them can help!

 

-Kylie

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

