Being Open to New Experiences

Pushing myself to try new things and meet new people has never been easy. Most of the time I’m perfectly happy to stay in my comfort zone and if someone decides they want to be my friend that’s great too. But college is way different. I’m sure you’ve heard that a thousand times but it is true and not just in academic life. In college you meet a variety of people, most of them at SSU are from the North Shore, Massachusetts or New England but it’s surprising how different people from the same region can be. To get to know these people however you’ve got to get out of your comfort zone. The first two weeks of freshman fall semester I stayed in my room and was miserable. So miserable in fact that I thought about transferring closer to home where I already had friends. Before I could start my transfer paperwork my cousin told me to just go out and sit in the lounge, I didn’t need to initiate a conversation with anyone but just sitting out there would be a step in the right direction. So I listened to her and she was right. Turns out five other girls had been feeling what I had been feeling and had had the same idea. Just taking that small step outside of your comfort zone can have the most amazing results. I now have a bunch of friends and am no longer as afraid to talk to new people. Even if it isn’t your lounge get of your room and talk to people in the lobby, in class wherever, putting yourself out there makes the college experience way better.

Leave a Reply

