What’s Going On?

I remembered those days as a first year student when I was bored on campus. I felt like there was nothing to do besides course work, friends, and Netflix. I feel that I should have reached out more my first year and became more involved with student life. Not only are there many clubs or associations to join, there are many events going on that you should look out for.

Joining a club, association, or even a sports team will help you become more involved with not only the school, but also it is a great way to meet new people with common interests. Reflecting back to when I was a sophomore, I joined Residence Hall Association through my residence hall’s Community Council. Every residence hall has one and they are always holding events in the halls every month. By joining Community Council, I was able to meet new people, plan and host fun events, and also reach out and advocate for my fellow residence. Even if you do not feel like joining, they welcome any resident student to come to their meetings so you can give them your opinions on past or upcoming events. Residence Hall Association and Community Council are not the only organizations on campus. There is also Weekend Warriors, Program Council, Student Government Association, and much more on the Salem State in this link: http://www.salemstate.edu/student_life/427.php

My first year would have been more fulfilling if I had joined more activities on campus. Now that I became more involved after my first year, it has been a lot of fun and I feel more connected to Salem State and my fellow students. I highly encourage you to join at least one club or association that you find interesting!

– Sarah M.

Leave a Reply

