Spring Forward!

Hello everyone and welcome to your spring semester courses at Salem State University! If you have looked at your college courses syllabi and thought that they all look pretty scary, just remember to breathe. It’s important to give that class that may scare you a chance first without dropping it. There are several ways to help you get through your courses this semester and start SSUceeding early on!

  1. Writing out your all your course work due dates on an overall monthly calendar that you can see every day. Last semester I invested in an erase board monthly calendar and I wrote down all my assignments on it so I could see when everything was due so I could plan my homework accordingly and on time.
  2. If you know you might struggle through the course, get a tutor to help you in a one on one study session! The tutors there are very friendly and are willing to help you reach your full potential in every class you need. For more information, call (978) 542 – 6213 or visit their offices in the lower level of the Ellison Campus Center.
  3. Make friends in your course and set up a study group if possible. Already in this semester, I reached out to my classmates around me and became friendly with them so when I need help understanding an assignment, I know I can Facebook, email, text, or call them if I have any questions.
  4. If you have a disability, going to the disability services will help you get the accommodations you need in class and help you find a tutor if necessary.  Here is more information on the Salem State page here: http://www.salemstate.edu/3719.php

I hope you have a great time with you courses this semester and there is a lot to look forward to in the next upcoming months. Just remember to stay positive and prioritize your schedule so you are not doing last minute work too. Good luck with everything!

-Sarah M.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

