The Great Looming Abyss

Change is frightening but inevitable. College is all about change and not all of it is easily seen by the people around us and in some cases we don’t even see how far we’ve come until someone points it out to us. Coming into Salem State I had a major and a definite career path picked out. While I have stayed in the original major I chose my ideas about what I want to do career wise have changed. Experiences in the class room with professors and out of it in the real world interning in my future field have helped me refine my idea of what I want to do with my life after school. My original plan was to go right into Grad School and get a Master’s to help with job prospects but now I’m considering working for a year or joining the military and then going back to school to get my Master’s. This wasn’t my original plan and honestly the process to get here has been a surprise but I’m happy with the direction my life is taking.

Accepting that we don’t know what the future holds and adapting to constantly changing situations around you can only help to further your happiness and personal satisfaction in life. Learning to accept change and the prospect of the unknown is not something you can just decide to do. It does take time and experience to finally be confident enough in yourself to realize that you don’t have all of the answers and that’s ok. All anyone can ever ask of you or hope for you is that you try your best and try to make yourself happy in life. So whether your happiness means changing majors, career paths or institutions do what you need to do to  be your best self.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

