Diabetes Awareness Month

Hello everyone!

I have been searching for a blogging idea for quite some time today and I have come across a near and dear topic that greatly impacts my life that I want to share with you all. I am a Type 1 Diabetic and November is Diabetes Awareness Month! Many people know about Type 2 diabetes from health class but type 1 is a chronic disease that many people walk through life with from a young age. My pancreas does not work and I have to supplement my body’s lack of insulin with a small device that is attached to my body that I wear 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a week. Many people have this disease but it is completely manageable and easy to control if you are dedicated.

Coming to college I was nervous to step out of my comfort zone, never mind to tell my new roommates and RA about my disease in case anything ever happened. Luckily, everyone I opened up to and just made them aware of my diabetes was more than understanding and willing to help me if anything was to happen. I also got in contact with SSU Disability Services office and they have helped make my college classes that much easier by handling paperwork to make sure that I have equal opportunity to do well in my classes as my peers even though I have diabetes. If you need anything medically related I would get in contact with their office ASAP! You can find their information on the following site: https://www.salemstate.edu/3719.php! They are awesome!

I wanted to share this information with you everyone because I want you to know that you are not alone. Everyone has things that they are insecure about sharing but SSU is an awesome place to be yourself and utilize resources to help you succeed. I am always around in the office and willing to give you any advice or information that you may need regarding diabetes, disability service, etc.! Also, if you are looking to read more about diabetes too the following website has an abundance of information http://jdrf.org/t1dlookslikeme/!

Please stop by the office if you need anything at all, we are always here to help!

FYM Jordan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

