Meet the Mentor: Kaitlynn

Hi all! I’m First Year Mentor Kaitlynn Bartley. All the mentors will be posting 25 things about us! So keep a look out for the rest!:)

with dory

  1. I’m an English major with an Educational Studies minor. I plan on going into Higher Education after I get my undergraduate degree instead of teaching:)
  2. I’m a writing tutor at the Writing Center in the Library (Right outside the Center for Academic Excellence). If you need an appointment, call us at (978) 542 – 6491
  3. I have a slight addiction to coffee, and I don’t plan on changing that.
  4. The way to my heart is with bad puns.
  5. I’m spending this upcoming Spring Break in London– it will be my first time leaving the East Coast!!
  6. I have an older brother (super old), an older sister-in-law (told you he was old), and a younger sister.
  7. I love candles. I always have one lit in my room!
  8. I’m a huge Harry Potter fan (I’m a Hufflepuff!), but I haven’t been down to Florida in about 12 years so I haven’t gone to Harry Potter World. Please don’t rub it in. I cry easily.
  9. I absolutely love SSU! It wasn’t my first choice, but after my first few weeks here I knew I made the right decision in coming here.
  10. I have a german shepherd named Sasha. I’m going to include a picture, because she’s my pride and joy.
    Sasha
  11. I’m allergic to cats, but that doesn’t mean I don’t love them.
  12. I have written a novel. It’s horrific, but I was super proud of myself for actually finishing it. It was so difficult, and I hope to fix it up and possibly publish it one day!
  13. I love Disney.
  14. I love reading, but I prefer realistic fiction and dystopian/sci-fi.
  15. I’m the shortest person in my family besides my aunt (married into the family), and my 6 year old cousin. My uncle on my mom’s side of the family has to duck to get through normal sized door frames– he’s also too tall to ride Superman at Six Flags New England.
  16. I have GAD (Generalized Anxiety Disorder) and mild depression. You probably wouldn’t be  able to tell just from talking with me once, but you might notice after you started to get to know me!
  17. Since my sophomore year of high school I’ve had 12 surgeries on my leg. I got to know my surgeon so well that I get a call from him on my birthday every year, and he sent me $20 when I graduated high school.
  18. I was allergic to dairy for about 6 years. Luckily, I’m not anymore, but every once in awhile when I’m not feeling good I’ll cut dairy from my diet for a few weeks. It’s actually pretty easy for me, at this point. The hard part is fake dairy! I hate it!
  19. I’m terrified of heights and driving, which is why I don’t have my driver’s license. Or a license to fly an airplane. I’ve gotten really good at using public transit:)
  20. I want to eventually get my Ph.D. so I can make my family call me Dr. Bartley.
  21. My mom used to be a cake decorator, so I can decorate cakes pretty well. Here’s a TMNT cake I made about 2 years ago (Yes, I know none of them are yellow… I didn’t have any of the other colors.)
    TMNT cake
  22. Softball is in my blood– I learned how to throw a ball before I learned how to walk. I was the youngest softball coach in my town’s history at age 16… until my sister started coaching at 14.
  23. I don’t have a favorite TV show, but some are Grey’s Anatomy, Friends, The 100, Big Brother, and Dexter.
  24. I bake when I’m stressed. I love to make people fat– ask anyone at FYE. I was so stressed by the end of last semester that every time I went home for the weekend I’d come back with some sort of baked good– cookies, brownies, cupcakes, anything.
  25. When I graduate in 2017, I’ll be the first person in my immediate family with a college degree!
Leave a Reply

