Inspiring Effect of Recruitment

Joining Greek Life here at Salem State has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. I have gotten to know the community, my sisters, and myself so much more. Being in Theta Phi Alpha has helped to get me out of my comfort zone and has allowed me to take on leadership positions, something I never thought was possible.

Recruitment can be a stressful time, both for the sororities as well as those wishing to join. Being recruitment chairwoman for my organization, I have come to love the impact it has on current members as well as the Salem State community.

Through recruitment, the organizations teach potential new members (also known as PNMs) the values and philanthropies of Greek Life. In teaching and engaging PNMs in these aspects, current members remember what it was like going through recruitment. Almost two years ago, I went through recruitment and I remember who I talked to, who I saw, and the feeling I got when I realized Theta Phi Alpha would be my home.

There is a sense of community when going through recruitment. Greek Life organizations come together to expand our welcoming and unique community, while Salem State students learn more about the university. Recruitment gives people the opportunity to learn about a part of Greek Life the media doesn’t really show, all while being able to meet independent, inspiring, and welcoming men and women.

Since recruitment has ended, Greek Life has expanded and we welcomed many new members into brotherhood and sisterhood. Fraternity and Sorority Life at Salem State is still relatively small, but our impact is much bigger.

14705676_1777644382494085_5107869476536509485_n
Phi Sigma Sigma and Theta Phi Alpha with their newest members!
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

