A Thank-You Letter to My Sorority

Hello Vikings!

As my senior year is flying by, I am always taking time to reflect on my years here at Salem State University. From the First Year Experience office, to the professors I have come to work with, I remember the people and the organizations that have impacted me most. One of those is my sorority, Theta Phi Alpha.

I have been a sister, and founding member of this chapter, of Theta Phi Alpha for almost three years and my time with my sisters has honestly been life-changing. I remember in high school, I wasn’t involved much and just kept to myself. But when I came to Salem State, I knew I wanted to make my experience worthwhile.

Capture1
My little and I at last weekend’s recruitment!

 

Being a member of Theta Phi Alpha has completely shaped who I am as a student, a friend, and a person. Because I was a founding member, my sisters and I put in a lot of hard work to create the chapter and legacy that we have today. I held countless leadership positions, from Academic Excellence to Recruitment Chairwoman. Leadership is something I never envisioned myself being a part of, let alone on the Executive Board. These positions helped me grow in my jobs on campus, eventually getting a leadership role in both First Year Experience and as an Admissions Ambassador.

Capture2
The sorority’s Recruitment Chairwomen (so far!) This was for an Ugly Sweater Party with Phi Sigma Sigma!

Apart from leadership, I have met my lifelong friends through Theta Phi Alpha. We have built something together and continue to do so. We have been together through a lot over the past three years, and have all connected through sharing the same values and experiences. Being in a sorority has helped me find the friends I was looking for when going to college.

Capture3
My twin and I two years ago at Formal!

This is not a plug to join a fraternity or a sorority. If fraternity and sorority life isn’t for you, then what you can take away from this post is to get involved! Whether it is with a fraternity or sorority, the Alliance, Student Theatre Ensemble, or going to your RA’s programs, getting yourself out there and being a part of something bigger than yourself is what college is all about (that and getting your degree).

Capture
A few sisters and I at last weekend’s recruitment! (Yes we are actually laughing–we always are!)

So get out of your comfort zone, get out there, and be the best you can be!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑