Why You Should Read for Fun Over Winter Break

Expired) The Clements Bookworm | Happening @ Michigan

If you are bookworm like me, you may already know your reading list for the Winter break but, I know many of you will be asking the question “Why would I read over my vacation?” During the semester it is hard to read anything other than textbooks or the works assigned to you; so if there is anything that has caught your eye or you have been meaning to read for a while, break is a great time to get it read! Especially since there is a lot more time spent at home for most people during this situation. Even if you are going to be working a lot over break, try reading for a little bit before you sleep rather than using your phone. It can help you get a good nights sleep.

Reading Habits of the Most Successful Leaders That Can Change Your Life Too  | Inc.com

Reading does not always have to be the struggle, it can be when you are assigned a novel that may not be the most enthralling, but if you find something you are truly interested in it can be beneficial to your mental health. Reading improves and maintains cognitive functioning, reduces stress, and improves overall well-being.

Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts Books | Wizarding World

If you have not read something outside of assigned coursework in a while it could be a good idea to start with something you have already read. I often will read one of the Harry Potter books if I am not sure where to start with my reading. Another option is to read a comic or graphic novel. They are light readings that are entertaining. Friends of mine have suggested the “Batman Year One” comic.

3 Reading Gifs - Gif Abyss

During this break I will be reading a book I have not had the chance to that I am interested in called “The Lucifer Effect” by Philip Zimbardo. I am a Psychology major so a book that covers how people become the way they are is something I want to learn about. If you are reading anything now or plan to read anything over break feel free to leave your books in the comments of this post or on the Facebook page! Hopefully you winter break reading will help set you up for success in the spring semester!

-FYM Mackenzie

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑