A Guide to S.M.A.R.T. Goal Setting!

A key component to succeeding throughout the semester is setting goals for yourself. It is something that we all do on a daily basis without even realizing it. However, the key to setting goals is making them in a way that allows you to be successful. Read this blog to find out what a S.M.A.R.T. goal is and how it is important for the rest of your life!

S- Specific

A successful goal is specific. If you make a goal that is too broad, then there will be no set end product. You will lose sight of what is important and you may not meet the goal that you meant to have. Having a goal that is specific will give you a clear and distinct end product that you can be proud of. Your goal must be clearly defined so you know what it is that you are attempting to achieve. There is a formula that people like to use for this. It is…

I will (goal+performance measure) BY (specific actions)

For example…

“I will lose 10 pounds in two months BY running on a treadmill for half an hour six days a week.”

M- Measurable

A goal must also be measurable. If you don’t know how to define success in achieving your goal, you won’t know if you reached the mark. You need to create a goal in which you can see yourself grow, or else it won’t be successful. There needs to be a clear, defining beginning and end point. There should be tangible evidence that this is being done. Being able to track your milestones feels so rewarding and it motivates you to keep going.

For example…

By December, I will only have organic foods and healthy snacks in my pantry.

A- Attainable

You must be able to realistically attain the goal that you are working towards. If the goal is too big or broad, it can be easy to get discouraged. You could never say, “I wanna go to the moon by Friday”. That is not attainable. “Goals should be designed like a good workout. They should stretch you slightly, so you feel challenged, but not cause stress or injury.”

For example:

I will competently outline what I can do for businesses, I will perfect my pitch, and work on my portfolio.

R- Relevant

Each goal that you set should relate to an overall life plan or some kind of bigger picture. It does not always have to relate to a professional goal, but something that is important to you. If it is not important enough to you that it is not a part of your life plans then you may not be as motivated to complete it.

For example:

The goal setter is planning to apply for the promotion after finishing their training modules.

T- Time Bound

Make sure that you put a time to your goals. If this is not done, then it is possible that you forget about the goal, lose motivation and it never gets done. Setting a time limit to this goal holds you accountable for your actions. It produces a sense of urgency and focus that creates a healthy tension that propels you forward. It also will help you to prioritize the things that are most important to you.

For example:

 The goal setter has set a deadline to achieve their objective within the three months following graduation.

Now that we know what each one is, let’s see an example of a whole S.M.A.R.T. goal!

Overall Goal: I want to be a better student.

S.M.A.R.T. Goal: I will target my lowest class average in order to raise my overall GPA.

  • Specific: I want to improve my overall GPA so I can apply for new scholarships next semester.
  • Measurable: I will earn a B or better on my MAT 101 midterm exam.
  • Achievable: I will meet with a math tutor every week to help me focus on my weak spots.
  • Relevant: I’d like to reduce my student loans next semester. Bringing up this low-class average will open new doors for me.
  • Time-based: I still have six weeks until midterms. This leaves me plenty of time to meet with a tutor and decide if any additional steps are necessary.

(https://examples.yourdictionary.com/examples-of-measurable-goals-and-objectives.html)

SMART Goals

Now that you have all of this information, try to make one for yourself! If you need help with any of it, talk to your Student Success Coach or a First Year Mentor!

-FYM Hanna

Citations:

https://examples.yourdictionary.com/examples-of-measurable-goals-and-objectives.html

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑