So You Think You Want To Change Your Major…

Hey First-Years!

I hope your semester is going well. Many of you are probably taking some interesting classing and general education courses, meaning you might be introducing yourself to some new subject areas you never thought of before. Which means that some of you may be finding a new passion, and may be thinking about changing your major.

First of all, that is totally okay.

You don’t need to know exactly what you want to do right now, and you don’t need to be 100% sure about what you want to study. After your first semester, you’ll have about 7 more semesters to finalize your decision and complete your degree. Ideally, you want to start thinking and make a decision by the end of your Sophomore year, but even after that there’s still time.

Personally, I have changed my major officially three times, and I changed it unofficially (meaning I wanted to change my major but changed my mind before completing the paperwork) another two times. I have changed my minor four times and my career path a whopping six times. Completely related to that, I will be graduating on time.

I finally locked in my major and minor last week. It is the Fall of my senior year and I just finally got my major and minor officially changed. I finally made my final decision on what I wanted to major and minor in last Spring. Spring of my Junior year I finally discovered what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

For a while I had many people questioning my decisions, but when I found my passion and followed it, it was easier to block those people and focus on what I wanted.

I encourage you to discover some new topics and passions. Take some classes just for fun. If you’re interested in something, explore it. Now’s the time to be adventurous, and now is the time to follow your dreams.

If you want some help deciding on a major or if you just want someone to talk to, feel free to reach out to us in the First Year Experience office. We’re located in Meier Hall 100A. You can call us at (978) 542-2618, or email us at firstyear@salemstate.edu.

 

Hope to see you soon, and I hope the rest of your semester is successful!

FYM Kaitlynn:)

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑