To Take or Not To Take Online Classes, that is the question

Hey Vikings! I hope you are making it through mid-term season! It’s almost over! On top of mid-terms and regular assignments, I am sure you are also trying to figure out your classes for next semester. Similar to many colleges, Salem State offers online classes. Here are the pros and cons of online classes so you can evaluate whether or not an online class would work for you!

online course

The Pros

1.) You don’t have to go to class.

If you are the type of student who has a hard time waking up for an 8AM, or has difficulty paying attention in an early lecture or would prefer to be more engaged in an online discussion post, or all three, an online class might be a great option for you! In addition, if you commute, that is one less class that you have to travel to campus for.

2.)  If you are an independent learner.

Some students, like me, want to learn course material at their own pace. Some professors’ teaching styles may not align with your learning style, so an online class gives you a little leeway of how you absorb the material. For example, for my online social work class, I have to complete three readings and write about them by Sunday night. Because that is the only deadline, I can read my textbooks at a pace that feels comfortable for me.

3.) You have more free time during the school week.

Since you do not have to go to class, there is no mandatory time taken out of your week where you have to be somewhere. You should be setting time aside each week to complete the work but it will be a time that is chosen around your work or volunteer schedule. Thus by having the choice to set aside the time, you have more time to fit other activities into your schedule. Some people pick online courses so that they have more time for their job. Some people, like me, use that available time for volunteer work, whether it is for fun or to build up the resume.

Cons 

1.) You have to stay on top of things.

There is no official meeting where a professor can verbally remind you of due dates and announcements, so it is 110% essential that you check Canvas daily. Unless you meet a professor during office hours or an online forum, Canvas is the only way you communicate with each other. Make sure you keep track of when your assignments are due and read the instructions carefully, since the professor cannot verbally go over it in a formal class setting.

2.) You do not have face to face social interaction.

If you are an extrovert like me, I like going to class, because I can talk to people and we can help each other learn. You may comment on a student’s post in an online discussion forum but may prefer the in person interactions versus online. If you prefer to have a professor teach you, instead of teaching yourself, online classes might be difficult.

3.) Online classes are $50 per credit, whereas regular classes are $37.92 per credit. So evaluate whether or not online classes work for you financially.

I took my very first online class this semester and it was hard to adjust to at first, because it was different as I did not know my professor and classmates personally. It was also different seeing my roommates go to class while I stayed in the residence hall doing homework. However, having an online class allowed me more free time for my job and my volunteer work. I learned to love online classes and I will be taking two online classes next semester. There are pros and cons to this type of class, so make sure you do what is best for you!

online computer

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑